Accredited by the University of Durham

In 2014 the Church of England entered into a partnership with the University of Durham to provide a single set of qualifications for ministerial education. This resulted in the Common Awards scheme, which is accredited by the University of Durham and offers qualifications from Certificate to Masters levels.

All our students study on a Common Awards programme. Under the provisions of this scheme we also work in partnership with the dioceses of Canterbury, Chichester, and Rochester to provide accredited continuing education to curates for ‘Phase 2’, the first four years following ordination.

More information about the Common Awards Scheme


The governing body of St Augustine’s is its Council of Trustees. All our sponsoring dioceses are represented among the Trustees, as well as ecumenical partners, and the dioceses of London and Guildford. Student and Staff representatives are also among the Trustees. A Board of Management serves as the Council’s executive committee. The Chair of Council and the Board of Management is the Rev. Canon Chris Dench.

The Principal

Rev. Dr. Alan P. R. Gregory was appointed Principal in May 2014.